Welcome!

2016 RENEWALS ARE NOW OPEN.  RENEW YOUR LICENSE HERE.
How to Renew Your Optometry License
WELCOME to the Kansas State Board of Examiners in Optometry! Check out this new web site for licensing and other important information related to optometry in Kansas.

Upcoming Meetings

  • Board Meeting / Annual Exam

    June 10, 2016
    Board Meeting:  8:30 A.M. Committee Room 582-N
    Written Exam:  8:00 A.M. Old Supreme Courtroom 346-S
    Kansas Statehouse
    300 SW 10th Ave
    Topeka, KS

    June 11, 2016
    Practical Exam:
    Lawrence Family Vision Clinic
    3111 W 6th St
    Lawrence, KS 

Announcements & News

  • Governor Appoints New Board Member

    Governor Brownback has appointed Craig Newland, OD to the Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry.  Dr Newland succeeds Douglas Ayre, OD.
  • New Continuing Education Requirements

    The Board has updated  K.A.R. 65-5-6 Continuing Education:   

    No more than 4 hours of the 24 annually required hours may be obtained through observing ophthalmic surgery. 

    Total practice management hours that can be obtained yearly has been increased to four hours. 

    EVERYONE is required to have 24 hours of CE annually.
  • Updated Optometry Law

    The 2012 Legislature updated the Optometry statues.  Among the changes:  Practice of optometry is more clearly defined,  one level licensure, 24 hours of CE are now required annually for everyone including new graduates, FBI backgrounds on all new licensure applicants, creation of a litigation fund.  Please review the updated statues here. 

List of Kansas Registered Contact Lens Vendors

Select CONTACT LENS DISTRIBUTION LICENSE for profession.

If your office has been contacted by an unregistered contact lens distributor selling contact lenses in Kansas, please file a complaint with the Kansas Board of Healing Arts

KSSBEO Facebook Page