Welcome!

WELCOME to the Kansas State Board of Examiners in Optometry!
RENEW YOUR 2020 LICENSE HERE

Renewal Deadline is September 15, 2020

KSSBEO COVID-19 Guidelines REVISED 04282020


Due to COVID-19, the Kansas Board of Optometry will be following COPE’s new guidelines for Interactive Distance Learning in place of live CE.   For a CE course to qualify as live under the new guidelines, it must have intermediate interaction with the instructor (webinar, video conference, teleconference).

The activity can only be presented one time and once it has taken place, you will no longer have access to it. 

COPE’s temporary rules modification can be found here

The Board will accept COPE's Interactive Distance Learning CE in place of live CE until 12/31/2020.

 

 


Mission

The Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry shall administer and enforce the provisions of Kansas Optometry Law so that the highest quality of eye care is provided to the citizens of Kansas.

Philosophy

The Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry shall act in accordance with the highest standards of ethics, accountability, efficiency, and openness.  We believe that by the vigorous enforcement of the law, we protect the public and ensure that the highest quality of comprehensive eye care is available to the citizens of Kansas and that it is delivered by qualified optometric practitioners.

Upcoming Meetings

  • October 2020 Board Meeting

    October 21, 2020
    1:00 P.M.  Law Offices of Frieden & Forbes, LLP
    1414 SW Ashworth Place, Suite 201
    Topeka, KS 

Announcements & News

  • KSSBEO Launches Public Service Awareness Campaign

    The Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry has developed a public service awareness campaign regarding contact lens safety.

    The Board developed the poster below targeted at teens and young adults. It was designed to educate the reader regarding the dangers associated with contact lenses not evaluated by a licensed eye care provider, particularly "cosmetic" or "theatrical" contact lenses obtained through illegal means. This poster has been sent to Kansas middle and high schools throughout the state.

     Optometry Contacts-Danger-Poster-Sept2017

  • New Continuing Education Requirements

    The Board has updated  K.A.R. 65-5-6 Continuing Education:   

    No more than 4 hours of the 24 annually required hours may be obtained through observing ophthalmic surgery. 

    Total practice management hours that can be obtained yearly has been increased to four hours. 

    EVERYONE is required to have 24 hours of CE annually.